## I MINA BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUAHAN

2007 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 29(L5)

Introduced by:

T.R. Muna-Barnes

J.P. Guthertz

J.T. Won Pat-

RELATIVE TO CONGRATULATING AND HONORING THE GUAM WOMEN'S CLUB ON THE OCCASION OF THEIR 55<sup>TH</sup> ANNIVERSARY

BE IT RESOLVED BY I LIHESLATURAN GUAHAN:

WHEREAS, the Guam Women's Club was established in February 1952 as a non-profit organization committed to improving the quality of life on Guam through their involvement in health, education, fundraising and civic activities; and

WHEREAS, the seven charter members of the Club included Patricia Ehrhart, Betty Pilgrim, Bertha C. Sessions, Phyllis Tyng, Melba Shriver, Isabel T. Guzman, Agueda I. Johnston, and Petrie Trehitt; and

WHEREAS, this year 2007, marks the 55<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of the Guam Women's Club, the oldest club and organization on island and through the years, they have made valuable and significant contributions to the people; and

WHEREAS, in the beginning years of the their service to the island, they performed volunteer work at the Guam Memorial Hospital, they initiated a project to eventually establish the Guam Museum, and they spearheaded the construction of the Memorias Para I Lalahita Park in Umatac and the Padre Palomo Park in Agana for which the organization received national recognition; and

WHEREAS, in 1958, the Guam Women's Club joined the Federation of Asian Women's Association and has since hosted four international conferences on Guam; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Women's Club has been a long-time supporter of our island youth offering college scholarships and since 1991, has funded three full-time scholarships to the University of Guam; and

WHEREAS, in continuing to assist in the education of Guam's schoolchildren, the Guam Women's Club has also held its annual Teacher

P 2: 22

Tea to honor public and private school teachers, supported the Day Care Center at the University of Guam, and contributed to the island's public television station KGTF; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Women's Club has continuously made efforts to clean and beautify the island, participating in island-wide clean-up campaigns, tree planting activities, and parks beautification; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Women's Club has assisted many other civic, non-profit, and charitable organizations such as the American Red Cross, Salvation Army, Sugar Plum Tree, Sanctuary, Alee Shelter, Rainbows for Children, and Erica's House; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Women's Club has also contributed greatly to health related civic organizations to include the American Cancer Society, Guam Memorial Hospital Volunteers, Saint Dominic's Senior Care Center, Special Olympics, Guam Medical Society, and the Guam Lytico and Bodig Association; and

WHEREAS, through its growth in membership and commitment to improving the quality of life on island, the Guam Women's Club is poised to continue its admirable record of service and assistance; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Women's Club is culminating its Fifty-Fifth Anniversary with a Reception at Government House on April 27, 2007; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina Bente Nuebe na Liheslaturan Guahan* does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, honor, commend, and congratulate the Guam Wornen's Club for its outstanding contributions to the island of Guam throughout the past fifty-five years, and extends its Best Wishes and Un Dankalu Na Si Yuus Maase for continued success in the years ahead; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the Officers of the Guam Women's Club, namely, Jillette Leon Guerrero, President; Melody Pyle, Vice-President; Joelle Wainer, Corresponding Secretary; Carin Allen, recording Secretary; Carina Fejerang, Treasurer; Nicole Woo, Member-at Large; Valerie Blas, Member-at-Large; to the Chairpersons of the Guam Women's Club 55<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Committee, Rose Marie Cruz and Marie McElligott; and Committee members, Lina McDonald, Kathy Kernaghan, Celine San Nicolas, and Donna Kloppenburg; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga'lahen Guahan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I MINA BENTE NUEBE NA LIHESLATURAN GUAHAN* ON THE 13<sup>TH</sup> DAY OF APRIL, 2007.

Mark Forbes Speaker Edward J.B. Calvo Vice-Speaker and Legislative Secretary